Still Life ~ pitcher and mug

Hellooooooooo Guys!!! I’m back!! I made a new painting and I was really happy and this painting I made is really special. You want to know why? because if you see how It looks like, It look like I was not the one who did it! haha. By the way, I was so excited. Really really, really excited!! :)

I think I improved if you compare this word from the Church I painted. Later on, you will know what made this painting so special to me. :) Here is the still life subject I found on google. I picked this because I thought this will be very challenging for me to do. Something new and something I’ve been wanting to do. It will challenge me in lighting effects, from shading to detail and more :)

But though, it was not actually imitated. My painting was lighter in color than this. But speaking of lighting and details, I think It was good enough. This was very special to me because before I did this project, I read the book I was reading about art. I was learning first the tones, the details, the values and everything I need to learn about. I also read about how to do still life in watercolors. Later I’m going to show you how. That was what I learned.

So Here is my methods and the method I read on the art book:

I used many sizes of brush. I used a large flat brush for washing. For the very little light effects, I used a very thin Chinese brush. And for painting other parts, I used a watercolor brush and a small flat brush.

First Method:

The first thing I did was soft sketches. It was really hard for me to do the sketches and rubbed many times. So maybe it took me one hour to do this.

I also looked and looked over the picture to estimate size and measurement. It was a hard work but in the end, I made it successfully.

Second Method:

After the soft sketches, I did the washing just to guide me. The picture you are seeing now is not the wash I did. The first wash I did was a light but warm colour. I think it is peach color.

After that light wash, I washed it with its colors. it is just to guide me in painting. Because I was so aware of painting it with the right colors.

Third Method:

I went into detailing now. In the second method, I washed it with its original colors also because it helps me in detailing. If you notice, the pitcher and the mug’s color became lighter than in the second method.

I kinda messed up a little here – the shadows. But I managed to repair it. Also, in the light effects, it was sort of hard to do. There must be some areas that should not be painted because the white paper is the lightest tone that must be there. Thankfully, I managed to make a good lighting. After the cloth, the jar, I also fixed the detailing in the pitcher and mug. Also in the table and background.

FINAL:

I really went into detail. I made the background light in color so that the table, the cloth, the pitcher and the mug would be emphasized. I messed up in the background but it was okay. After detailing, I just add up touches to satisfy me. You can say that a painting is finish when you think you have express all what you want to express on the flat surface. So my last touches were just the shadows and lighting in the table. I painted the table brown but it got darker so what I did was flooded it with water and absorbed it with a paper. It was not that hard to make changes in watercolor medium. To make lighter areas in the table, I painted some areas with white paint. After the lighting, I went with shadows but that was not that hard.

For the background, there are some blue and light green painted on some areas. I made it by painting blue first but it was very watery and also with the light green.The shadow in the background was a mess but I think its alright.

If you compare my painting to the picture, it is much lighter in color. So, that’s it. It was very hard. I made it with no rest, no drinking water so I was thirsty after finishing. Haha, it took me three hours to finish but it was all worth it! I learned about tones and value. Tones and Value are really important in painting because it gives drama to the painting. While I was painting it, I learned all about it and a great look of a painting. That really made me happy :).

So, what do you think? :)

What I learned about tone and value -

A simple way to understand tone is to thing of a colored photograph of a scene and then imagine the scene rendered as a black and white photograph

There is no shortcute in understanding tone.

Direction of light isĀ  very important.

Light and shadow and create atmosphere and drama in the painting

In watercolor, you always work from light to dark- the white of the paper will be your lightest areas.

5 thoughts on “Still Life ~ pitcher and mug

  1. lesliepaints says:

    Beautiful still life, Martha. You worked hard on this and it looks to me like it was a successful pursuit. :)

  2. caseytoussaint says:

    This is good – the still life itself is wonderful (did you set it up?) and your painting really works.

  3. Louis Spector says:

    Very good, you’ve come along way.

Leave a Reply

